Independent · not affiliated with SpaceX or StarlinkPower data checked · how

Dataset · power consumption

Starlink Mini power consumption: every reading, with its source

Official figures, dated owner measurements and seller claims, kept apart. Each row tells you what was measured, how, and when we checked it.

  • Numbers checked
  • No owner test of a Mini: we don’t own one
  • 21 readings · CSV
Quick answer

The Mini averages 25–40 W Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 and idles around 15 W Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026, by Starlink’s figures for the whole kit at the AC input. It is rated for 60 W Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 at most. The Standard dish averages 75–100 W Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026. On USB-C or 12 V the Mini skips its AC power supply, so it usually draws less than the AC figure; the dated owner readings below show how much.

What the badges mean

Starlink: “Starlink says its power figures include the dish, router, power supply and cables, are based on AC input averages, and vary with temperature, location and use.” Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article

Starlink Mini

ReadingWattsConnectionSourceDate
averageSpec sheet. Starlink: figures include dish, router, power supply and cables, measured as AC-input averages.25–40 WAC (wall / inverter)Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink Mini Specifications (PDF)checked Oct 5, 2026
averageHelp center lists 20–40 W, the spec sheet 25–40 W. We plan with the higher low end.20–40 WAC (wall / inverter)Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 How much power does my Starlink need?checked Oct 5, 2026
idleHelp center idle figure (AC input, whole system).15 WAC (wall / inverter)Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 How much power does my Starlink need?checked Oct 5, 2026
max inputInput rating, not a typical draw: the most the Mini is rated to take (boot, snow melt, heavy use).60 W12–48 V DCOfficial spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink Mini Specifications (PDF)checked Oct 5, 2026
minimum sourceNot a draw: the minimum USB-C PD source rating (20 V / 5 A).100 WUSB-C PDOfficial spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink Mini Specifications (PDF)checked Oct 5, 2026
boot (first 3–5 min)USB-C inline meter, cold boot. One owner, Escape Trailer forum.36–39 WUSB-C PDCommunity report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 StarLink Mini measured power consumption (Escape Trailer Owners forum, user gklott)reported Feb 2025
checked Oct 5, 2026
in-use rangeSame owner after boot: low and high readings while browsing and streaming.11–38 WUSB-C PDCommunity report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 StarLink Mini measured power consumption (Escape Trailer Owners forum, user gklott)reported Feb 2025
checked Oct 5, 2026
in useAverage over about 3 hours of mixed use and streaming (64 Wh in 3 h 6 min), USB-C inline meter.20 WUSB-C PDCommunity report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 StarLink Mini measured power consumption (Escape Trailer Owners forum, user gklott)reported Feb 2025
checked Oct 5, 2026
idle (24/7)Van DC system, no inverter, battery-monitor log.18–20 W12 V DCCommunity report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink Mini Install: Power, Wiring, & Mounting to our Van (FarOutRide)reported Dec 2025
checked Oct 5, 2026
heavy useSame van log, evening heavy use.39 W12 V DCCommunity report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink Mini Install: Power, Wiring, & Mounting to our Van (FarOutRide)reported Dec 2025
checked Oct 5, 2026
in useDay average: the log’s 486 Wh per day left on 24/7, divided by 24 h (our arithmetic). DC side, no inverter.20.3 W12 V DCCommunity report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink Mini Install: Power, Wiring, & Mounting to our Van (FarOutRide)reported Dec 2025
checked Oct 5, 2026
in useFrom an EcoFlow River 2 Pro, apparently through the supplied AC power supply; reading from the station display.20 WAC (wall / inverter)Community report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Show us your Starlink Mini setup! page 3 (TacomaWorld)reported Jan 2026
checked Oct 5, 2026
mostly idleSupplied power supply, mostly idle with a few speed tests; meter not stated.19 WAC (wall / inverter)Community report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink Mini DC power consumption (DIY Solar Power Forum)reported Jan 1, 2024
checked Oct 5, 2026
range by useConnection and meter not stated. The top of this range is above the 40 W official average; it fits inside the 60 W input rating.20–50 W—Community report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink Mini Power Setup Questions (Expedition Portal forum)reported Sep 2024
checked Oct 5, 2026

Starlink Standard (4 / 4 X)

ReadingWattsConnectionSourceDate
averageStandard (4 / 4 X), whole system incl. router, AC input.75–100 WAC (wall / inverter)Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Standard 4 X Specifications (PDF)checked Oct 5, 2026
idleHelp center idle figure.20 WAC (wall / inverter)Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 How much power does my Starlink need?checked Oct 5, 2026

Starlink Standard Actuated

ReadingWattsConnectionSourceDate
averageStandard Actuated, whole system, AC input.50–75 WAC (wall / inverter)Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink Product Specifications_Standard (Standard Actuated kit, PDF linked from starlink.com/specifications Standard Actuated page)checked Oct 5, 2026
idleHelp center idle figure.20 WAC (wall / inverter)Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 How much power does my Starlink need?checked Oct 5, 2026
in useStandard Actuated (Gen 2) on a 12 V conversion with a small router; one-hour measurement. Not the current Standard dish.30–40 W12 V DCCommunity report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink 12V Conversion (Lorjor Explore)checked Oct 5, 2026
snow meltStarlink app power readout with snow melt on; Gen 2 on a 12 V conversion.45 W12 V DCCommunity report: A dated measurement posted by an owner, cited. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Starlink 12V Conversion (Lorjor Explore)checked Oct 5, 2026

Gen 3 router

ReadingWattsConnectionSourceDate
power supply ratingNot a draw: the Gen 3 router power supply rating. Starlink publishes no router draw; dish figures already include the router.60 WAC (wall / inverter)Official spec: From a Starlink specification sheet or help article. Checked Oct 5, 2026 Mini Accessories guide (PDF)checked Oct 5, 2026

Download the CSV Turn watts into runtime

What this means for your battery

Have a measurement?

We add community readings that say the connection, what the dish was doing and the meter used, with a public link and a date. Send it through the contact page. We don’t pay for readings and we never relabel them as ours.

Questions people ask

How much power does a Starlink Mini use?

Starlink’s spec sheet says 25–40 W on average and about 15 W at idle, measured at the AC input for the whole kit. Owners measuring on USB-C or 12 V usually report figures inside or below that range; every reading on this page shows its source and date.

How much power does the Standard dish use?

Starlink lists 75–100 W on average and 20 W at idle for Standard (4 / 4 X), including the router and power supply. Standard Actuated is listed at 50–75 W.

Why do readings differ?

Connection (AC goes through two conversions), what the dish is doing (booting, searching, heavy use, heating), temperature, and the meter. That’s why each row says how it was measured.

Can I use this data?

Yes: download the CSV and cite this page. The data is free to reuse with attribution (CC BY 4.0).

Sources

  1. How much power does my Starlink need? · checked Oct 5, 2026
  2. Starlink Mini Specifications (PDF) · checked Oct 5, 2026
  3. Standard 4 X Specifications (PDF) · checked Oct 5, 2026
  4. Starlink Product Specifications_Standard (Standard Actuated kit, PDF linked from starlink.com/specifications Standard Actuated page) · checked Oct 5, 2026
  5. Mini Accessories guide (PDF) · checked Oct 5, 2026
  6. StarLink Mini measured power consumption (Escape Trailer Owners forum, user gklott) · checked Oct 5, 2026
  7. Show us your Starlink Mini setup! page 3 (TacomaWorld) · checked Oct 5, 2026
  8. Starlink Mini DC power consumption (DIY Solar Power Forum) · checked Oct 5, 2026
  9. Starlink Mini Power Setup Questions (Expedition Portal forum) · checked Oct 5, 2026
  10. Starlink 12V Conversion (Lorjor Explore) · checked Oct 5, 2026